Tuesday 4 April 2023

Introduction to BRICs, history, development and future

  Introduction to BRICS

As a group of emerging economies, BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa) is an acronym that represents the future of global trade, commerce, and investment. The BRICS countries are projected to become the world's leading economies by 2030. In this comprehensive guide, we will provide an introduction to BRICS and discuss the history, goals, achievements, and future prospects of this group of nations.


BRICS is an acronym for Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa. These countries are located in different regions of the world, with varying climates, landscapes, and natural resources.

  • Brazil is located in South America and covers nearly half of the continent. It has a diverse geography, including the Amazon rainforest, the Brazilian Highlands, and the Brazilian coastline, which stretches for over 7,000 kilometers.

  • Russia is the largest country in the world, covering over 17 million square kilometers. It spans two continents, Europe and Asia, and has a varied geography that includes tundra, forests, mountains, and vast plains.

  • India is located in South Asia and has a diverse geography that includes the Himalayas, the Thar Desert, and the fertile Indo-Gangetic Plain. The country is also home to several rivers, including the Ganges, Brahmaputra, and Yamuna.

  • China is located in East Asia and is the fourth largest country in the world. It has a diverse geography that includes mountains, plateaus, deserts, and coastal plains. The country is also home to several major rivers, including the Yangtze, Yellow, and Pearl Rivers.

  • South Africa is located in southern Africa and has a varied geography that includes the highveld plateau, the Kalahari Desert, and the Drakensberg Mountains. The country is also home to several major rivers, including the Orange River and the Limpopo River.

Overall, the BRICS countries have a diverse geography that reflects their rich history, culture, and natural resources.



Basic demographic indicators for each of the five BRICS countries: Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa.

CountryPopulation (2023 est.)Population Growth RateMedian AgeLife ExpectancyUrban Population
Brazil214,047,0000.77%32.8 years73.1 years86.3%
Russia144,383,000-0.17%39.6 years73.3 years74.5%
India1,445,618,0001.05%27.8 years69.4 years35.0%
China1,404,087,0000.37%39.9 years76.2 years61.6%
South Africa65,057,0000.64%27.3 years63.3 years66.3%

Note: The population, population growth rate, median age, life expectancy, and urban population data are approximate estimates for 2023. Please keep in mind that these numbers are subject to change and may vary from different sources. Also, please note that the demographic indicators presented in the table are just a few basic indicators and may not provide a comprehensive picture of the demographic profile of each BRICS country. For a more detailed and up-to-date analysis, it's recommended to refer to reliable sources such as official government statistics or reputable international organizations.

History of BRICS

The BRICS group was formed in 2006 by Jim O'Neill of Goldman Sachs. The acronym originally stood for "BRIC" before South Africa joined the group in 2010, changing the acronym to "BRICS." The concept of BRICS was based on the belief that these nations were rapidly developing and would soon become dominant players in the global economy. The first BRIC summit was held in 2009, and the group has since held regular summits, with the most recent one held in Brasilia, Brazil, in 2019.

Goals of BRICS

The primary goal of BRICS is to promote economic growth and development within its member countries. To achieve this, the group focuses on increasing trade, investment, and cooperation in areas such as finance, infrastructure, and technology. Additionally, BRICS aims to increase its influence in global governance, particularly in the United Nations and other international organizations.

Achievements of BRICS

BRICS has made significant progress in achieving its goals. For example, the group has established the New Development Bank (NDB), a multilateral development bank that provides funding for infrastructure and sustainable development projects in member countries. Additionally, BRICS has created the Contingent Reserve Arrangement (CRA), a fund that provides financial support to member countries during times of crisis. BRICS has also increased its influence in the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and the World Bank, pushing for reforms that give emerging economies a greater say in global governance.

Future Prospects of BRICS

The future looks bright for BRICS. The group's combined GDP is expected to surpass that of the G7 countries by 2030. Additionally, BRICS member countries are projected to become the world's leading economies by 2030, with China and India leading the way. The group has also set ambitious targets for sustainable development, renewable energy, and other key areas.


In conclusion, BRICS is a group of emerging economies that is rapidly gaining influence on the global stage. The group's focus on economic growth and development, as well as its push for reforms in global governance, has led to significant achievements. With the potential to become the world's leading economy by 2030, BRICS is a group that is worth watching closely.


There have been discussions and reports about potential new members expressing interest in joining BRICS, including Algeria, Argentina, Iran, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, Egypt, Afghanistan, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Senegal, Thailand, and the United Arab Emirates

No comments:

Post a Comment